Update to our fake ghd advice post

by admin on May 14, 2009

Just a very quick post to let you know that we’ve updated our post on how to avoid buying fake ghd’s from dodgy scam websites purporting to be genuine “official” ghd retailers.   The post can be found here:

How to stay safe when buying ghd hair straighteners.

Comments Closed

{ 20 comments }

suzanne August 25, 2009 at 4:34 am

[fake site name removed]

ordered, paid for & not recieved! thankgod I used my Tesco Credit Card, they have been helpful & advised me on what to do nxt. Avoid this site

Emily August 28, 2009 at 6:39 am

If only I’d checked for bogus websites before trying!! Hopefully will get money back because used Tesco Credit Card. Payment didn’t even appear to go through properly but it’s been charged!! DO NOT USE THIS SITE

s faraz August 29, 2009 at 5:28 pm

How stupid I was ?Didnt check this site b4,orderd ghd 4rm the website,received it within 8 days n guess wot/its fake,they have got my details.can i get my money back sumhow???

s faraz August 29, 2009 at 5:29 pm

the website is ghdlondonshop.com

s faraz September 6, 2009 at 5:44 pm

i also made a mistake,askin 4 refund bck but no reply.

Joyce October 26, 2009 at 7:53 am

Which site did you use please ? Coz I ordered from ukghdstores.com and the same thing has happened to me. I have also opened a dispute with Paypal so I am hopeful.

KAREN November 29, 2009 at 3:35 pm

Joyce did you manage to get your refund from ukghdstores….as i used the same site

jacqui October 26, 2009 at 1:19 pm

hi joyce i think it was likeyourhair.com, but to be honest i think they are all the same people as the sites are all the same layout.. hope you get your money back from them i was pleased with the way paypal dealt with this, also in your respnse through paypal make sure you mention that you are certain that they are fake! good luck. let me know!! fingers xxed

jacqui October 26, 2009 at 1:28 pm

hi everyone i bought the straighteners through paypal and the sellers e mail was if you see this is where your money is going to, dont buy because these are definately fake…………….beware beware beware beware dont do it…

Amy November 6, 2009 at 5:30 pm

I have just ordered a pair of purple GHDS from this website ukghdstore.com and i thought it was too good to be true! I have just contacted my credit card company, so i am hoping this can be corrected as the website doesnt even exist anymore! I have learnt from this and will be ordering them directly from GHD from now on!

admin November 8, 2009 at 12:53 pm

Although it is sad that you were scammed, there are plenty of genuine ghd retailers who can offer you savings on legitimate ghd hair straighteners. ghd publish a list of some of these on their website (and you can find most of them in our price comparison tables).

KAREN November 29, 2009 at 3:31 pm

Only hours ago i Purchased a pair of GHD MK5 Dark from ukghdstore thought it was a great deal. After reading these reviews i feel Gutted !!! Rung my credit card company but payment has already come out. Will i even get an order and will they be fake ? Sent an e-mail requesting a refund as the website says you can but you loose 5% of the cost. Has anyone used this site. Why hasnt anything been done to stop these sites ??

admin November 30, 2009 at 7:52 pm

Yes from what others (including ghd’s own website) claim, your straighteners will be fake. Why these sites are still appearing in Google after this length of time is something of a mystery to us as well. They are infringing ghd’s trademarks and thus should be covered by the DMCA take-down service that Google offers (http://www.google.com/dmca.html) but this doesn’t seem to be happening for whatever reason (either ghd is chosing not to enforce their trademark or Google is not complying – both of which are very atypical situations for this sort thing). Google should also be capable of spotting some of the dodgy things these sites are doing to rank well (in would often appear to be violations of Google’s policies). It is all getting a bit strange, and the people losing out are the tens of thousands of UK consumers who’ll end up with fake ghds this Christmas…

KAREN December 1, 2009 at 2:18 pm

Thank you so much for your reply. I sent a e-mail to ukghdstores the same day and asked for a refund as i knew the stock was fake. They never denined it and just said ok sorry to hear that . I was amazed when i actually got a reply to confirm they had cancelled my order. Its still pending on my credit card statement but they havent took the money. So it will be cancelled in another 5 days. So i guess ive been very very lucky because if i hadnt read your review site i would never have known and been stuck with fakes instead … No fakes GHD’s and my money back. Thank you to everyone who put their reviews on here.

KAREN December 1, 2009 at 2:22 pm

Oh almost forgot did get some straightners i bought some CLOUD 9 Straightners the new ones that have just come out and made by GHD from a well known salon in the city centre £140 and a travel size included. I guess you just cannot get cheap for good quality

admin December 6, 2009 at 3:43 pm

Cloud 9 are not made by ghd. Cloud 9 are made by the factory that used to make ghd irons many years ago. They are fronted in the UK by two of the founders of ghd who left the company several years ago, and are marketed by an advertising agency that was the ghd advertising agency several years ago.

Of course, that doesn’t mean that they aren’t a good product (indeed, we’ve heard some very positive noises about them), but it is wrong to say that Cloud 9 are in any way associated with (nevermind actually made by) ghd!

Rach February 19, 2010 at 8:27 am

You are not alone. I feel so stupid I bought ghd iv’s for my son, received them the other day (at least I got something!) but they are counterfiet.
The dodgy website is hairghd-shop.com and I was linked to this via Amazon when doing a search for straighteners, the worst feelings is now they have my credit card details!

Kitsch Kitty March 10, 2010 at 2:46 am

Also look out for ghdoutlet-uk.com. They took my money about a year ago but for one reason or another I only just got round to regitering them to find out they’re fae. Emailed the company to give them a chance to refund me and the best they could offer is 5% discount on my next order! Am digging out bank statement to make sure no further money has been taken. Name on email is Vicky Bradley (although if that’s genuine I will eat my hat.) If you find a fake website try to email it ot the genuine GHD site as they will list it in their faes section. They also have a list of appoved stockists. Trying now to desperately save up for a genuine pair so I can do my Mum’s hair for her wedding photos (she’s having them retaken as it rained all day when she fot mnarried) and I’m blowed if I’ll use potentially dangerous fakes near my mum’s head. Ah well no treats for me for a long time then :(

MIchelle March 25, 2010 at 12:55 pm

I just tried to order 2 straighteners from this site. When I increased the quantity to 2, i was given a message saying when you buy more than one at a time, you get a 100% discount. So I though, maybe this is a buy one get on free deal, but the total cost was 0. I figured that when it came to the payment part, that either a price would come up, or it would ask me for some form of payment information.

It did not. I only ordered yesterday, so my order has not passed processing, but what kind of scam can they do with out any payment information?

sue April 8, 2010 at 2:17 pm

hi i bought a pair of straightners from ukghdstore or ghdslae.com they seem to have a few websites..i recieved my order after a week and i didnt realise that this was a fake website until i looked further into it..i was so cross with myself!! they came all the way from china and look the real macoy but when i checked the serial number with ghd they confirmed it was fake… i have sent them to get a report back so hopefully i can claim my money back from tesco credit card they have been lovely….these sites should be stopped its not on ripping people off…so mad

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: